A Trip to Georgia Aquarium

Last weekend we got a chance to visit Atlanta. It’s a 5 hour drive from my place. One of my favorite destinations in Atlanta is “Georgia Aquarium”. I love watching animals and it’s one thing I never get tired off. Aquatic animals are very colorful and interesting.

Sea Dragon

Sea Dragon

Sea Dragon belongs to same family as sea horses “Syngnathidae”. The protrusions from the body serve as camouflage. They are quite fast for there size.

Blue Jellyfish

Blue Jellyfish

There wereΒ  many varieties of jellyfishes but this one caught my eye.

Alligator

Alligator

Most of them were shy and hiding in water :(. Only this posed for a while before it decided to join its friends.

Eel

Eel

Eel, a deadly slimy creature. According to the display board at the aquarium, it still young but it can produce 400 volts of electricity. A fully grown eel can generate 600 watts (enough to kill croc s & also a human beings).

Saw-Shark

Saw-Shark

Saw Shark, mostly found in South Africa to Australian waters and also near Japan. The teeth at the side are used for hunting it’s prey.

Manta Ray

Manta Ray

Manta Ray, the largest ray fish on earth. They are likely to become endangered.

A-Small-Octopus

A-Small-Octopus

One of the things to consider while shooting in a aquarium is the low light conditions and reflections on the glass. The best way to shoot in low light conditions without flash is to increase your ISO settings and use a tripod. As for reflections try to place your lens close to the glass and use rubber lens hood, this would prevent scratching the glass. Let me know which one you like in the comments section.

15 thoughts on “A Trip to Georgia Aquarium

  1. Hello soroilily. Nice to meet you. I especially like the sea dragon photo, and the octopus, which I suspect is a starfish πŸ™‚
    Do you use any kind of photo editing program? I don’t know if it’s just my computer or not, but your photos seem a little over saturated, especially the greens in your robin photos. I find it can be a bit of a challenge – first everyone’s computer screen is different, also I don’t know about you, but I do all my photo editing on a laptop so each time I move the screen it changes the saturation, plus uploading them to the blog changes it again. Anyway it’s just a suggestion for something you may want to look at.
    Thank you for visiting our blog and for following, and for the ‘like’ on the Yangon post. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer.
    Cheers and Blessings
    Alison

  2. Looks like you get to travel a lot. Photography really helps me to recall all the incredible places I’ve seen. I love my new Nikon. I’m still a novice, but the camera is a Pro!

Leave a Reply

